The New Electric Sound
  • Sep 18, 2012 2:00 am
  • 41:21 mins
Download the BYURadio Apps Listen on Apple podcastsListen on Spotify

The New Electric Sound is a surf-rock inspired band from Provo, Utah. Comprised of 5 talented musicians, they are described by Time Magazine as: "...a five-piece surf-pop-rock band that fuses simple, time-tested, ‘50s-era rock ‘n’ roll with current indie-pop styles, delivering something original, with a sweet sugar coating of nostalgic goodness. Young, handsome, and heavily cardiganed, The New Electric Sound reminds us that songs of love, innocence, and heartbreak are just as cool today as they’ve always been."  TNES recently won the Rock the River Battle of the Bands, and played Downtown Provo’s Rooftop Concert Series. This summer they filmed a music video for their song “Heartbeat,” which was nominated for Best Music Video in the 2012 International Film Festival Manhattan Awards. Having them in our studio was a grand time, and this episode showcases all of their fabulous quirkiness, catchy rhythms, and infectious musicality!  HOST: Don Shelline  PERFORMERS: Scott Vance (lead vocals, guitar); Tom Brinton (bass, vocals); Ben Zabriskie (lead guitar, vocals); Tony Carlson (drums); Eric Call (keyboard, trumpet)  MUSIC: "What if I Disappear," "Suitcase," "Crimson Sky," "Boston Shuffle," "Heart Beat," "Before I Fall Apart" and a song so new that it didn't have a name at the time of this taping! Follow Highway 89 on twitter @byuH89