Storytelling

Women's History Month 2018

The Apple Seed
  • Mar 29, 2018 6:00 pm
  • 57:38

President Jimmy Carter said, “The achievements, leadership, courage, strength, and love of the women who built America was as vital as that of the men whose names we know so well.” Why I Speak Out by Judith Black (1:40) Learn more about Judith Black by visiting: storiesalive.com Sonari Glinton and Dorothy Glinton (15:14) storycorps.org/listen/dorothy-glinton-and-sonari-glinton/ Wally Funk and Mary Holsenbeck (17:50) storycorps.org/listen/wally-funk-and-mary-holsenbeck-170803/ Bishop Ricardo Ramirez (21:49) storycorps.org/listen/bishop-ricardo-ramirez/ Idella Hansen and Sandi Talbott (24:13) storycorps.org/listen/idella-hansen-and-sandi-talbott-160923/ Stephanie Butler and Joyce Butler (26:37) storycorps.org/listen/joyce-and-stephanie-butler/ Dan Steinberg and Peg Steinberg (28:39) storycorps.org/listen/peg-and-dan-steinberg Interview with Jen Christensen, Project Manager of (31:27) Jen is the Project Manager of Better Days 2020, a non-profit organization “dedicated to popularizing Utah women’s history in creative and communal ways.” Jen chats with us about a project she is heading to replace one of Utah’s statues in the U.S. Capitol building with a statue of Martha Hughes Cannon, the first female state senator in the nation and in Utah. She also shares with us the history of women’s rights in Utah and the story of how Better Days 2020 came to be and the vision they have for the future. Learn more about the project by visiting: www.betterdays2020.com